Timothy Warren Memorial Scholarship


The Timothy Warren Memorial Scholarship was established in 2017 to honor the life of Timothy Warren, a graduate of the NRESci Academy and a 2015-16 Academy Ambassador from Breathitt County. Full and partial scholarships are available annually to NRESci scholars. Applicants must be enrolled as a first, second, or third year scholar or ambassador for the upcoming NRESci Academy program year (starting September 1, 2017) at the time of application. 

"Timothy was a scientist by nature. His love for animals, reptiles, and amphibians was evident to everyone that knew him. His passion for science could be seen in the many instructional videos that he made describing how to make solar USB chargers, battery USB chargers using altoid tins, RGB lanterns, and breadboard friendly switches. He loved to take things that most people discarded and re-invent them into something valuable. He was very proud to be a member of the NRESci Academy and to be chosen as an Ambassador. His memory could be honored in no greater way than through this NRESci scholarship." - Diane Warren, Timothy's mother

Timothy Warren and David Ditsch

The photo above is of Timothy and Dr. David Ditsch, co-founder of the NRESci Academy during a NRESci Academy Marine Science and Coastal Ecology Trip. 


Additional Information

  • Applicants must be enrolled as a first, second, or third year scholar or ambassador for the upcoming NRESci Academy program year at the time of application.
  • Applications should be submitted to University of Kentucky NRESci Academy, c/o Ashley Osborne, 212 Scovell Hall, Lexington, KY 40546 or ashley.osborne@uky.edu. The application deadline is June 1, 2020 (applications mailed should be postmarked by May 28).
  • Successful applicants will be notified by July 1, 2020.
  • Scholarship money will be paid directly to the Kentucky 4-H Foundation for the awarded applicant prior to the first day of the program. These scholarships are available to pay all or a portion of the NRESci fee for youth that would benefit from this educational experience and would not be able to attend the program otherwise.
  • Brochure


Thank you to our sponsors!

The Timothy Warren Memorial Scholarship was initiated by Dr. David Ditsch and family. Dr. Ditsch retired as the Director of the University of Kentucky Robinson Center (RCARS), and was a professor in the Plant and Soil Science Department and co-founder of the NRESci Academy. Dr. Ditsch and his family continue to provide sponsorship to the scholarship fund each year. In addition, sponsorship has been received from Chi Epsilon Sigma, The National Cooperative Extension Support Staff Fraternity of the University of Kentucky, and numerous individuals from Timothy's community in Breathitt County and the surrounding area.

If you are interested in contributing to the Timothy Warren Memorial Scholarship, monetary donations (in the form of checks) can be made out to the Kentucky 4-H Foundation and mailed to the following address. Please note the NRESci - Timothy Warren Memorial Scholarship in the check's memo line. If you have questions please contact Ashley Osborne.


Mailing Address:

University of Kentucky 4-H

c/o Ashley Osborne

208 Scovell Hall

Lexington, KY 40546


State Coordinators: